Insect Boards.com
Welcome to Insect Boards.com. We are a forum and market place for insect collectors, breeders and observers as well as a place for those into arachnids, invertebrates and more. You are viewing the forum as a guest right now, but once registered and logged in it will be AD free, you will be able to buy, sell and trade in our classifieds area, post in our forums, and so much more.






 
HomeGalleryFAQSearchUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Share | 
 

 USDA Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Kevinswither
Newbie


Posts : 13
Points : 23
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: USDA Review   2/15/2017, 6:39 pm

Looks like from one of our sister forums is that they might change the permitting system.

https://www.regulations.gov/docket?D=APHIS-2008-0076

And please, make relevant and logical comments. Also, if enough people say stuff like that, then there is going to be change as they might be able to get some of us, but they can't get several hundred thousand people. People have already commented, one of them being for butterflies (tropical) and several allegedly being for snails.

It is mainly snails and soil related, but add some ones about insects. The more the merrier. You can also be anonymous too.
Back to top Go down
Insect Rod
Advanced Member
avatar

Posts : 187
Points : 249
Join date : 2016-12-16
Location : Georgia USA

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/16/2017, 9:37 pm

Who is the sister forum?
Insect rod
Back to top Go down
T.C.
Owner
avatar

Posts : 418
Points : 550
Join date : 2016-11-02
Location : Wisconsin

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/16/2017, 10:07 pm

Yeah, I had Seen this earlier. Your gonna want to make sure your reply is well thought out. They don't want your opinion if you just are looking for less rules. They are looking for different reasons as to why there should be change.
Back to top Go down
http://www.insectboards.com
Kevinswither
Newbie


Posts : 13
Points : 23
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/17/2017, 12:36 am

Forums like beetleforum and mantidforum. I just got the word spread out that's why. What different reasons should we put on there? I know some already submitted but the more we get in the better. After all, this is a democratic capitalist republic.
Back to top Go down
T.C.
Owner
avatar

Posts : 418
Points : 550
Join date : 2016-11-02
Location : Wisconsin

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/17/2017, 2:22 pm

Well be sure you add stuff like you want them for observing, studying, etc. Other wise they will just assume we want less rules so keeping them for fun will be easier. This is just my opinion based off of things I have seen in the past.
Back to top Go down
http://www.insectboards.com
mothman27
Moderators
avatar

Posts : 229
Points : 302
Join date : 2016-11-03
Age : 16
Location : Indiana

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/17/2017, 9:16 pm

Thanks for posting the link. I have posted a comment on that site. I especially think laws are far to strict on deadstock importing. I have to buy a permit to legally import DEAD insects even if they are also native to the US.

_________________
My interests in order, greatest-least: Lepidoptera, Coleoptera, Homoptera, Orthoptera, Odonata, Mantodea, Thysanoptera, Hemiptera, Hymenoptera, Phasmatodea, Diptera, Blattodea.

H. trisignata  -   E. imperialis   -   P. oculatrix   -   A. caesar
~-~-~-~-~Tim
Back to top Go down
http://www.ebay.com/usr/loefflerlepidoptera
mothman27
Moderators
avatar

Posts : 229
Points : 302
Join date : 2016-11-03
Age : 16
Location : Indiana

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/17/2017, 9:17 pm

I have always wanted to get exotics to raise but the permit process is ridiculous.

_________________
My interests in order, greatest-least: Lepidoptera, Coleoptera, Homoptera, Orthoptera, Odonata, Mantodea, Thysanoptera, Hemiptera, Hymenoptera, Phasmatodea, Diptera, Blattodea.

H. trisignata  -   E. imperialis   -   P. oculatrix   -   A. caesar
~-~-~-~-~Tim
Back to top Go down
http://www.ebay.com/usr/loefflerlepidoptera
Kevinswither
Newbie


Posts : 13
Points : 23
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/18/2017, 12:09 pm

Make sure that we have reasons to deregulate it, as well as cover any opposition "as in millipedes with mites, or any of that stuff"
Back to top Go down
Kevinswither
Newbie


Posts : 13
Points : 23
Join date : 2017-01-03

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/18/2017, 12:10 pm

Make sure that we have reasons to deregulate it, as well as cover any opposition "as in millipedes with mites, or any of that stuff"
Back to top Go down
Insect Rod
Advanced Member
avatar

Posts : 187
Points : 249
Join date : 2016-12-16
Location : Georgia USA

PostSubject: Re: USDA Review   2/18/2017, 4:04 pm

Leave it to the government to make procedures more complicated, they will always be in your hair and even more so now as the world has opinions.
I think way too many people have hands in the pocket and it will never get better as permits show. So you can`t import a dead insect, why is that?
What can you send from State to State in the lower 48 USA, i`m not sure they even know.
Insect rod
Back to top Go down
 
USDA Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Insect Boards.com :: InsectBoards.com General :: General Insects , invertebrates, and arachnid Keeping and observation-
Jump to: